top of page
Plastic Polluted Ocean

Take action today for
people and planet

Sustainable Development Goals

The Faith Plans programme supports the UN's Sustainable Development Goals which are a universal call to action to end poverty, protect the planet and improve the lives and prospects of everyone, everywhere. The 17 Goals were adopted by UN member states in 2015, as part of the 2030 Agenda for Sustainable Development, which set out a 15-year plan to achieve the Goals

'A blueprint to achieve a better and more sustainable future for all people and the world by 2030'
~ UN SDG Mission Statement, 2015

What are the Sustainable Development Goals?

There are 17 Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs), and Seven Key Areas within the Faith Plans framework. The SDGs are a universal call to action to end poverty and improve our world. The Faith Plans respond to this call to action by providing a framework for faiths to create practical plans of action, inspired by their own values and beliefs. These plans make a significant contribution to improving life for millions of people around the world.

These 17 goals, below, connect to the Seven Key Areas of Faith Plans. 


End poverty in all its forms everywhere


End hunger and achieve food security


Ensure healthy lives and well-being


Ensure inclusive and equitable education 


Achieve gender equality 


Ensure water and sanitation for all


Access to clean energy for all 


Sustainable livelihoods for all


Sustainable businesses


Reduce inequality  in countries


Make cities and communities safe


Ensure sustainable use of resources


Take urgent action on climate change


Conserve the oceans and seas


Protect plant, forests and land


Promote peace
and justice


Support each other to
reach these goals

Sustainable development is the pathway to the future we want for all.
~ UN Secretary-General Ban Ki-moon

How do the Seven Key Areas relate to the SDGs?

Hover over the pictures below to see examples of how the Faith Plans connect to the SDGs.

Key Area One

For example:

  • Construction and buildings

  • Land and forests

  • Water

  • Wildlife/habitat protection

Faith-Consistent Use of Assets

SDG 6 - Clean Water
SDG 15 - Life on Land

relate to

1. Faith-consistent use of assets

2012 Dar es Salaam 1-rz.JPG
Key Area Two

For example:

  • School curricula

  • Informal education

  • Nature trails

  • School eco-twinning

Education and young people

SDG 4 - Quality education
SDG 5 - Gender equality

relate to

2. Education and young people

Key Area Three

For example:

  • Stories and practices

  • Prayer and meditation

  • Sacred Places

  • Theology/philosophy of nature


SDG 15 - Life on Land

SDG 16 - Peace and justice

relate to

3. Wisdom

Key Area Four

For example:

  • Traditions of simple living

  • Pilgrimage & tourism

  • Nature protection

  • Purchasing power


  • SDG8 - Sustainable livelihoods

  • SDG12 - Responsible consumption

relate to

4. Lifestyles

KenyaInterfaithEnvDay2013 rz 2 2.jpeg
Key Area Five

For example:

  • Subject matter

  • Influence

  • Advocacy

  • Guides and handbooks

Media, advocacy & outreach

  • SDG15 - Protect our planet

  • SDG17 - Support each other

relate to

5. Media, advocacy & outreach 

Windsor Castle ARC 157 lowres.jpeg
Key Area Six

For example:

  • Dedicated staff & funding

  • Lay people

  • Eco-twinning

  • Other partnerships

Partnerships, eco-twinning

  • SDG11 - Sustainable communities

  • SDG17 - Support each other

relate to

6. Partnerships, eco-twinning

CCaBudak rz small.jpeg
Key Area Seven

For example:

  • Traditional festivals

  • New festivals

  • New traditions

  • New beautiful places


  • SDG 3 - Good health and wellbeing

  • SDG 16 - Peace and justice

relates to

7. Celebration

Learn more about the
Seven Key Areas in Faith Plans

bottom of page